Blessed Beyond Measure

As I hideaway in my bedroom getting the 3 year old down for a nap, I am full of thankfulness.  I have truly been blessed beyond measure.

I am so thankful for my wonderful, godly, loving, inspiring, bold, and intelligent husband of 18 years.  I thought he was great when we married, but the years have simply increased my love for him and revealed a man who is far greater than I deserve.

I am thankful for the 7 precious children that the Lord has blessed me with to raise for His glory.  They are a truly amazing bunch that brims with life, love, unique personalities, and talents.  I truly believe that they will all be incredible adults and make a difference in the world.  I wish I could take credit for the awesomeness of these precious beings, but it truly is the Lord who has guided us as we have raised them.  We are not perfect parents, our kids are not perfect, but even at their worst, they are still the best 😀

I am thankful for my house and the memories that we have stored up here.  As we are working to get our house on the market, in anticipation for a job relocation, I am filled with mixed emotions.  I am excited about the adventures that lay ahead and the new memories that are to be made, but this house… This is the house where most of my children have spent a happy childhood, where we have had fun (and loud) meals around the table 3 times a day, where we have hosted dinners, events, birthday parties, and even a foreign exchange student. This house has been a blessing as it has given us room for our growing family to grow.  The acreage has given my children room to run, play, build forts, zip line, climb trees, play with our animals, enjoy seeing some wildlife, and just be kids.

I am thankful for family and friends who love me, even though I am not perfect.  There are so many incredible people in my life who have encouraged me and helped me grow.  There are people who have hurt me deeply, but I can be thankful for them because they keep me seeking the Lord and give me the desire to treat others with love and kindness.  There are friends who have been in my life for a season, and some who have been in my life as long as I can remember.  I really need to do a better job to letting these folks know how much they mean to me.

I am most thankful for the Lord.  I don’t know how I could get through a day without Him.  The Word of God is a source of comfort and guidance for me as I live for Him.  Christ is my Saviour, the One who gave His very life for me and the One who I live for because of my love for Him.  The Holy Spirit guides me daily as I seek to live in a sinful and corrupt world and inhabit a sinful and corrupt body.

Yes, I am definitely blessed beyond measure, and I praise the Lord for His abundant mercy and love to this undeserving speck of dust.


Leave a comment